Riot Act, Inc. announces winners of 6th annual New Play Festival

JACKSON HOLE, WYO — Riot Act, Inc. is announced the winners of its 6th annual New Play Festival. Of the original works submitted for the contest, the judges ultimately selected three short plays by regional playwrights to be produced as part of Riot Act’s Annual Series of Shorts June 5-8, 2019.

The first-place winner will receive $100 and the Marius P. Hanford IV Award. Marius was a longtime stage combat choreographer influential in several theater communities, including Jackson and New York. The second and third finalists will be awarded $50 each.

Charley Daveler (Courtesy)

Winning plays are:

  1. To Waste by Charley Daveler of Kelly, WY
  2. I Was A Teenage Fireworks Smuggler by Bryan Stubbles of Layton, WY
  3. The Leaf Whisperer by Anne Marie Wells & Dom Cuzzolina of Jackson, WY

Daveler called her work a dark comedy about a high-achieving teen destroying her body with her perfectionism. “The grim reaper escorts her into the strange underworld to determine if he is there to help her survive or let go all together,” she stated.

All three plays are excellent examples of our talented regional writing pool and Riot Act is excited for the opportunity to bring these new creations to life on the stage.

This year’s winners were selected by judges: Deanna Darr of ID, Michael J Johnson of Jackson and Washington DC, Brent Podosek of CO., Jason Ruff of ID, and Kelsey Johnson of WY.

About The Author


You May Also Like
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act, Inc announces winners of New Play Festival
Arts & Entertainment
Attention playwrights: Riot Act’s New Play Festival opens for entries
Arts & Entertainment
Playwrights sought by Riot Act for 6th annual New Play Festival
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act takes over 49er Ball, royalty vote is on
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act, Inc. host auditions for ‘Chicago’
Arts & Entertainment
Fight song: Calling all singers and wannabe stage combatants