Riot Act picks three shorts to award, perform

JACKSON HOLE, WYO – Riot Act, Inc.  today announced the winners of its 5th Annual New Play Festival. Ten original works were submitted for the contest. Judges ultimately selected three short plays by regional playwrights to be produced as part of Riot Act’s Annual Series of Shorts June 20-23, 2018.

The first-place winner will receive $100 and the Marius P. Hanford IV Award. Marius was a longtime stage combat choreographer influential in several theater communities, including Jackson and New York. The second and third finalists will be awarded $50 each.

Winning plays are:

  1. Uber Mensch by Jason Ruff of Victor, ID
  2. Last. Only. Best by Anne Marie Wells & Angel May Wise of Jackson, WY
  3. Feather and Bone by Rita Barkey of Bonner, MT

All three plays are excellent examples of our talented regional writing pool and Riot Act is excited for the opportunity to bring these new creations to life on the stage.

This year’s winners were selected by judges: Deanna Darr of Idaho, Michael J Johnson of Jackson and Boston, Kelly Bouma of Montana, Brent Podosek of Colorado. Cheryl Cluff of Utah, and Rachel Hsieh of Utah.

Riot Act hopes to see everyone at the show as they bring these new scripts to life on stage in June.

You May Also Like
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act hosts auditions for next production
Arts & Entertainment
Award-winning play “Fool for Love” opens at new creative project space
Arts & Entertainment
The Ball is back! Riot Act to host legendary 49er
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act casting for ‘The Normal Heart’ next week
Arts & Entertainment
Riot Act revs up for season
Arts & Entertainment
Ladies night: Riot Act looking for a few good women