Board of County Commissioners remains unchanged after election

JACKSON HOLE, Wyo. — After Tuesday’s election results came in, it was same old same old on the Board of County Commissioners.

Both incumbents held their seats on the BCC—chair Natalia Macker with an impressive 6,647 (27%) votes, followed by Greg Epstein’s 5,149 (21%). Both Macker and Epstein are Democrats. Republicans Peter Long (4,889 votes) and Christian Beckwith (4,776 votes) ran respectable races but came up just a bit short of catching Epstein. Wes Gardner’s 3,391 votes as an Independent rounded out the field.

Macker’s and Epstein’s victories are a repeat of their inaugural wins in 2016 when both Democratic candidates bested two Republicans in Nikki Gill and Trey Davis.

So, did voters express their wish to stay the course with county representation by retaining both incumbents for another four years? Or is a growing ‘blue’ base in Teton County (registered Dems now outnumber GOP) organically affecting partisan races with predictable outcomes?

You May Also Like
Why Greg Epstein is running for re-election to be your county commissioner
Epstein decides to seek reelection
Macker selected to group of nation’s ‘rising leaders’
Town & County
Natalia Macker named County Commissioner of the Year
Commissioner Macker off to summit for young elected leaders
Contemporary, award-winning play makes unlikely two-week staging in the Hole