WYOMING – Sobering news ahead of the biggest one night celebration of the year is Wyoming has the highest rate of impaired driving deaths.
SafeWise.com presented the findings using the most recent 2017 impaired driving data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
While all states have drunk drivers, some have more than others. With New Year’s Eve approaching, SafeWise thought it would be helpful to identify the states where you’re most likely to run into drunk driving danger—and the ones where the roads should be safer.
Not only was Wyoming the worst state for drunk driving deaths, it was the only one in the top five worst to increase its death rate; the other states all reduced their numbers from the previous year. In fact, Wyoming was ranked #8 to start 2017 but shot to the top of the list by year’s end.
At a glance
- 80% of the most dangerous states were also in the top five in 2016—Wyoming is the only newcomer, replacing Montana as the state with the most impaired driving deaths per capita.
- Montana went from the state with the most dangerous roads (9.58 drunk driving deaths per 100,000 people in 2016) to number 27, with 5.33 deaths per 100,000.
- Wyoming climbed from eighth place (5.98 deaths/100,000) to the worst state for impaired driving fatalities, topping the list with 7.59 deaths per capita in 2017.
- Every state in the five worst (except Wyoming) decreased its rate of drunk driving deaths year over year in 2017.
- 80% of the worst states have no minimum jail time for first-time DUI offenders. South Carolina is the outlier with two days for a first offense.
- The majority of US states require mandatory alcohol abuse assessment or treatment after a DUI conviction, but neither is required in four out of the five worst states for drunk driving deaths.
- Among the five states with the most drunk driving deaths, the average minimum fine for the first DUI conviction is $300, compared to $524 among the five states with the fewest drunk driving deaths.