Vote18: Town and County candidate field shapes up

JACKSON HOLE, WYO – The field is set for local races this campaign season. The filing deadline for public offices holding primary elections has come and gone with a few candidates joining the fray at the last minute.

Jackson Town Council

The Jackson town council race is a nonpartisan affair with two open seats. Incumbent Don Frank announced earlier in the year he would seek another term. The local builder was chosen to replace Melissa Turley in 2013. He then handily won the 2014 election as the top vote getter.

Bob Lenz, who turns 85 this year, has held a seat on the council since being elected in 2006. He said he will not run for reelection.

Judd Grossman will make another run at town government. The local musician put up a good showing in 2016 but was narrowly defeated by incumbents Jim Stanford and Hailey Morton Levinson.

Jessica Sell Chambers is another name familiar to voters. She has been active in the Democratic Party, and ran to be on the council in 2016.

New faces in the town race include Arne Jorgensen, Zachary Padilla, and Jonathan Schechter.

Jorgensen is a longtime architect in the valley and has owned his own firm for decades. Padilla owns and operates a pair of wine and spirits brokerages in Teton County. Schechter is an economist with a regular column in a local newspaper.

Jessica Sell Chambers
Donald Frank
Judd Grossman
Arne Jorgensen
Zachary Padilla
Jonathan Schechter

Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners has open three spots with the departure of Paul Vogelheim and Smokey Rhea—both of whom declared they would not seek reelection—and Mark Newcomb’s term expiring.

The partisan race will feature incumbent and BCC chair Newcomb-D squaring off against Richard Auerelio, Seadar Rose Davis, and Luther Probst. One name will be left off the general election ballot after the August primary as only three can advance.

On the GOP ticket, all three candidates will move on so the primary will be little more than a beauty contest. Still, in years past, the order of finish in the primary usually carries through to the general election.

Mark Barron, Andrew Byron, and Mary Martin have all filed to run as Republicans.

Tim Rieser will get to skip the August election by virtue of running as an Independent. His name will be added to the general ballot in November.

Richard Aurelio (Democrat)
Mark Barron (Republican)
Andrew Byron (Republican
Seadar Rose Davis (Democrat) 
Mary Martin (Republican)
Mark Newcomb (Democrat)
Luther Propst (Democrat)

You May Also Like
Town & County
Town approves airport budget after carving out $320k
Town & County
Town takes first look at FY21 budget amid dismal projections
Town & County
Town to pursue ban on sale of flavored e-cigarettes
Town & County
Town trims $2.7M from current budget in anticipation of ‘unprecedented revenue decline’
Associated Press
Democrat from Ryan Park running for Wyoming U.S. House seat
Jackson orders residents to stay at home