Teton County General Election Forums begin this week

JACKSON — The Teton County General Election debates begin this week, and residents, citizens and voters can watch or listen live and submit questions.

Teton County General Election Online Candidate Forums:

  • General Penny — Wednesday, September 30 at 6 p.m.
    Teton County Commission — Thursday, October 1 at 6 p.m.
    Mayor and Town Council — Wednesday, October 7 at 6 p.m.
    School Board and House 22 — Thursday, October 8 at 6 p.m.
    Hospital Board and Conservation District — Wednesday, October 14 at 6 p.m.
  • Listen live at 89.1 FM
  • Stream live at tclib.org

Representatives from the local media will ask questions on a variety of topics and policies for the candidates to answer, and a member from the League of Women Voters will moderate the forum. The public may submit comments before the forums by emailing [email protected].

General Penny Forum

Town Administrator Larry Pardee and County Clerk Maureen Murphy will give a general outline and explanation on the proposed additional general revenue sales and use tax initiative. They, as well as town and county electeds who are not up for re-election, including Town Councilors Arne Jorgensen, Jonathan Schechter and Jim Stanford, and Commissioners Luther Propst, Mark Newcomb, and Mark Barron, will answer questions from the media.

Teton County Commission Forum

Teton County Board of Commission debates involve candidates Christian Beckwith (R), Peter Long (R), Greg Epstein (D), Natalia Macker (D), and Wes Gardner (I), vying for two open seats.

Mayor and Town Council Forum Forum

Jim Rooks, Devon Viehman, Pete Muldoon, and Jessica Chambers seek to fill the two open Jackson Town Council seats. Hailey Morton Levinson and Michael Kudar are running for Jackson mayor. The races are non-partisan. Both the mayor and town council candidates will participate in one forum.

School Board and House 22 Forum

Jennifer Zung, Betsy Carlin, Bill Scarlett, Kate Mead, and Thomas Smits are vying for the 4 open seats on the School Board. Bill Winney (R) is running against incumbent Jim Roscoe (I) for the House 22 seat.

Hospital Board and Conservation District Forum

Hospital Board candidates include Bruce Hayse, Sue Critzer, Deborah C. Hopkins, C. Scott Gibson, and Cynthia Hogan. Five seats are open on the Hospital Board. Conservation District Candidates include Nate Fuller and Roby Hurley. The Hospital Board candidates will answer questions from the media, although the Conservation Board Candidates will give only 2-minute introductions on their platforms.

If you (the public) would like to submit questions, please email them to [email protected] before the forums.

About The Author

Sponsored by Teton County Library

You May Also Like
Dates set for Teton County General Election Forums
Teton County Primary Election Forums set for August 5-6
Access thousands of free online classes with your library card
Inform your vote at the SPET Election Forum
Town & County
Teton County Library’s Free Digital Services
The Library is open 4 more hours a week