JACKSON, Wyo. — The Board of County Commissioners met for its first meeting of 2023 this morning, Jan. 3 at 9 a.m.

Wes Gardner Photo: Teton County

Wes Gardner was sworn in as a new member of the Board virtually during the meeting, filling the vacancy left by Mark Barron. Luther Propst and Mark Newcomb, who won back their seats in the 2022 election, were also sworn in at the Courthouse at 8:30 a.m. This will be Propst’s second term and Newcomb’s third.

This morning’s meeting was the last time Natalia Macker served as Board Chair. Propst and Natalia Macker swapped positions in a unanimous vote made at the end of the meeting. Propst will serve as Board Chair and Macker is the new Vice-Chair.

During the meeting, the Board also reappointed three members to the Teton County Weed & Pest Control Districts. Mary Cernicek will serve District 1 (Town), Kasey Mateosky will serve District 2 (Hoback, and Lucas Turner will serve District 3 (Moran). No new applications were received for the positions and all three members completed nomination petitions. Their terms will end Jan. 1, 2027.

Buckrail @ Lindsay

Lindsay Vallen is a Community News Reporter covering a little bit of everything; with an interest in politics, wildlife, and amplifying community voices. Originally from the east coast, Lindsay has called Wilson, Wyoming home since 2017. In her free time, she enjoys snowboarding, hiking, cooking, and completing the Jackson Hole Daily crosswords.