7 Wyoming high school students are semifinalists for US Presidential Scholars Program

JACKSON HOLE, WYO – Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon today announced that seven Wyoming high school students are semifinalists for the 2019 US Presidential Scholars Program.

“The achievements of these seven Wyoming students deserve recognition, reflecting academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in their schools and communities,” Governor Gordon said.

These semifinalists Recipients of the 2019 US Presidential Scholars Program are scheduled to be announced next week. The US Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

The semifinalists from Wyoming are:

  • Christine Baker, Wilson – Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Lillian Brazil, Jackson – Jackson Hole High School
  • Benjamin Brown, Jackson – Jackson Hole High School (who is a candidate for US Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education)
  • William John Riis Card, Sheridan – Sheridan High School
  • McKenzie Carr Lilygren, Lander – Lander Valley High School
  • Scott Nicholas Orton, Afton – Star Valley High School
  • Marc Alan Wodahl, Buffalo – Buffalo High School

You May Also Like
Governor Mark Gordon announces invasive species initiative
Governor signs executive order on sage-grouse protections
Jackson student named U.S. Presidential Scholar
Governor brings Wyoming into new energy advocacy group
Governor appoints Jason Conder as Ninth Judicial District Court Judge
Wyoming invests in carbon capture