Library boards welcome new members, officers

JACKSON HOLE, WYO – Teton County Library’s three supporting boards brought on new members and elected new officers this month.

The Library Board welcomed Grace Robertson, who Thursday began a new three-year term, replacing outgoing board member Carol Peck.

“The library is so appreciative of the countless hours Carol volunteered during her six years on the Library Board, including two terms as board president,” said Library Director Dawn Jenkin. “We’re also excited to welcome Grace, who has a strong connection to the library, having served as site coordinator for our volunteer income tax assistance program for the last five years.”

Robertson grew up in Wyoming. She moved to Teton County after retiring from a 24-year career with the Boeing Corporation, where she had risen to the rank of Vice President/General Manager of Transport Aircraft Research and Development. Her interest in serving on the board stems from experiencing the library as a community resource during tax season, and while volunteering for Teton Literacy Center and Teton Mentor Project.

“Teton County Library has come to be a true 21st-century library,” said Robertson, adding that she wants to contribute to continued progress and success.

The Library Board elected new officers during its regular monthly meeting on July 18. The board elected John Hebberger, Jr. as chair; Mark Hendrickson as vice-chair; Susan Scarlata as secretary; and Ari Goldstein as treasurer.

One Library Board member also serves simultaneously on the Library Foundation Board. On Thursday, the board appointed Scarlata to serve as the foundation liaison.

The Foundation Board welcomed new members Carolyn Ripps and Wendy Martinez, both avid library users. Ripps moved to Jackson in 2004 for “just one summer” and is still here raising a library-loving family, having worked in fundraising, sales, and marketing for multiple local organizations.

Martinez was raised in Jackson, and has returned to make it her home, working as Homeowner Services Manager at Habitat for Humanity of the Greater Teton Area after receiving BS and MPA degrees from University of Wyoming. She’s also the graduate of TCL’s summer reading and college prep programs, which are funded by the Foundation, bringing her full circle in her library experiences.

Library Board member Grace Robertson will serve as a liaison to the Library Friends Board, which welcomed new member Lori Clark-Erickson for a two-year term. She recently retired after 15 years as Jackson Hole High School Librarian, a position she held after serving on the Teton County Library staff.

The Friends Board also elected new officers. Longtime Library Friend and volunteer Kelly Bass was elected as the Friends Board chair; Ed Minczeski as vice-chair; June McCollister as treasurer; and Dail Barbour, retired library building manager, as secretary.

You May Also Like
Library will slowly come online beginning with book drop, curbside pickup
Library slots Goldstein into interim director role as longterm search continues
Library creates ‘JHBearHunt’ game amidst social isolation activities
How is the coronavirus affecting the library?
ACT prep class to be offered by Teton Tutors
Free tax prep offered at library