Jeydon Cox leads Broncs football for post-season accolades

JACKSON, Wyo. – With the 2019 high school football season fading in the rear-view mirror, all that’s left are the accolades.

The Broncs were unable to secure a state title, bowing out in the semi-final round at the hands of Star Valley who went on to win the 3A championship. But individual honors were bestowed on several Jackson athletes.

Jackson running back Jeydon Cox again won Offensive Player of the Year—a feat he accomplished last year as well. Cox also made Casper Star Tribune’s Super 25 team. The fleet-footed senior finished with 2,038 yards for 2019—good enough for 5th on the all-time list of rushing yards in a season. He also holds down 3rd place on the list for his 2,257 yards in 2018.

The Wyoming Coaches Association recently released its All-State teams. Jackson seniors Kirby Castagno (LB, FB), Jeydon Cox (RB), Kevin Flores (DL), and Peter Goettler (WR/CB), along with sophomores Colter Dawson (LB), and Sadler Smith (QB) made the list.

All-State 3A

CODY: Tristan Blatt, sr, DB; Keith Conner, sr, DL; Duncan Radakovich, sr, DL; Matt Sandoval, sr, DB; Keaton Stone, jr, at large; Nic Talich, jr, LB; Jeff Williams, sr, OL.
DOUGLAS: A.J. Yeaman, sr, QB; Edel Diaz-Jaime, sr, OL; Jake Halquist, sr, at large; Cody Pinkerton, sr, DL.
GREEN RIVER: Thomas Harvey, sr, DL; Payton Tucker, sr, LB.
JACKSON: Kirby Castagno, sr, at large; Jeydon Cox, sr, RB; Colter Dawson, soph, LB; Kevin Flores, sr, DL; Peter Goettler, sr, WR; Sadler Smith, soph, QB.
LANDER: Ty Massey, sr, DB; Jack Sweeney, jr, LB.
POWELL: Brody Karhu, sr, RB; Carson Olsen, sr, LB; Geordan Weimer, jr, OL.
RAWLINS: Kadin Forney, sr, RB; Connor Mendez, sr, WR.
RIVERTON: Lucas Engle, soph, WR; Zane Taylor, sr, OL; Caden Werbelow, sr, LB.
STAR VALLEY: David Castillo, sr, TE; R.J. Cazier, sr, Lucas Chappel, soph, OL; Trent Clark, sr, OL; RB; Hazen Erickson, sr, LB; James Erickson, sr, DB; Bryson Jenkins, sr, at large; Branden McDonald, sr, DL; Chase Merrell, sr, specialist; Parker Merritt, sr, DL; Brant Nelson, jr, at large; Gabe Nield, jr, OL; Dean Shaw, sr, WR.
TORRINGTON: Corbin Harris, sr, DL.
WORLAND: Pudge Hofmann, sr, LB; Devon Mercado, sr, DB; Luke Mortimer, sr, specialist.
Offensive players of the year: Jeydon Cox, Jackson; Kadin Forney, Rawlins.
Defensive players of the year: Hazen Erickson, Star Valley; Caden Werbelow, Riverton.
Special teams players of the year: Chase Merrell, Star Valley; Luke Mortimer, Worland.
Linemen of the year: Chase Merrell, Star Valley; Zane Taylor, Riverton.

You May Also Like
Broncs blaze past Riverton, earn rematch with Star Valley
Broncs back Jeydon Cox makes Super 25 list
Town & County
South Park development hanging in the air as Comp Plan updates ready for public
The ripple effect of COVID-19
Right place, right time: Park employees save the day in the Tetons
Virg sold, new owners vow little change