Categories: EducationNews

Wyoming superintendent tapped to lead national organization

CHEYENNE, Wyo. — State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow just became the first Wyoming superintendent to lead the Council of Chief of State School Officers (CCSO).

CCSO’s Board of Directors named Balow as president Tuesday during the organization’s annual policy forum in Atlanta.

Balow has served on the CCSSO Board of Directors since 2016. The organization, made up of state superintendents from around the U.S., is committed to ensuring that all students participating in the public education system – regardless of background – graduate prepared for college, careers, and life.

As president, Balow will frequently be asked to speak with federal policymakers about education issues. For her platform, Balow has selected “Beyond the Bell,” which seeks to better link high-quality after-school, summer, and early morning experiences to a well-rounded education.

“This is an exciting time to be in education and to serve as president of CCSSO,” Balow said. “My hope is to carry forward the CCSSO mission and emphasize what can be done beyond the bell to create the best conditions for learning for Wyoming’s students and inspire my colleagues to do the same for their states.”

In order to optimize beyond the bell time, Balow said, “Schools, parents, districts, and states need to create opportunities diverse enough to engage as many youth as possible. These opportunities are created by facilitating innovative collaborations in communities across the nation.”

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, the Bureau of Indian Education, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO’s Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president, and six directors elected by CCSSO membership.

Recent Posts

Teton County General Election Forums begin this week

JACKSON — The Teton County General Election debates begin this week, and residents, citizens and… Read More

58 mins ago

Grizzly captured near Cody, moved to Squirrel Meadows

JACKSON, Wyo. — A sow grizzly was relocated last week after exhibiting habituated behavior in the… Read More

16 hours ago

Search and Rescue assists with lost hunter on Togwotee

JACKSON, Wyo. — As more and more hunters venture into the backcountry with the opening… Read More

16 hours ago

Extended stretch of warm and dry weather ahead

JACKSON, Wyo. — After a weekend of cooler and wetter conditions, the weather pattern will… Read More

17 hours ago

Wyoming Radon Video and Poster Contest open to students statewide

WYOMING — The Wyoming Department of Health and Wyoming Cancer Program, in partnership with the… Read More

18 hours ago

County Commissioner candidate Gardner commits to clean water in Teton County

A message from county commissioner candidate, Wes Gardner: JACKSON, Wyo. — County Commissioner candidate Wes… Read More

18 hours ago