Categories: NewsPolice

Wyoming Highway Patrol commissions Class 97

WYOMING — The Wyoming Highway Patrol recently commissioned 18 Cadets to the rank of Trooper upon the completion of their intensive training academy.

During their academy, the new Troopers were instructed in a variety of classes, including firearms, commercial carrier, physical training, RADAR/LIDAR, emergency vehicle operation, custody and control, crash investigation, and other pertinent training.

The members of Class 97 that were new to law enforcement participated in 1,200 hours of academy training. All Troopers take an oath to protect and serve all citizens of this great state with courtesy, professionalism, and integrity as Wyoming’s Troopers represent the agency brand of “Guardians of the Cowboy State.”

The new Troopers participated in their swearing-in ceremony in front of family and friends at the Wyoming Supreme Court on November 15, 2019. The ceremony marked the 97th graduated class from the Wyoming Highway Patrol Academy.

Wyoming Highway Patrol Class 97:

  • Trooper Cody W. Ball (Badge # 102 Rock Springs)
  • Trooper Adam P. Balthazor (Badge # 220 Gillette)
  • Trooper Austin W. Barker (Badge # 217 Rock Springs)
  • Trooper Susan S. Berkeyheiser (Badge # 170 Laramie)
  • Trooper Micah P. Burke (Badge # 136 Jackson)
  • Trooper Joseph M. Devlin (Badge # 155 Baggs)
  • Trooper Jacob R. Fourman (Badge # 106 Rawlins)
  • Trooper Ryan W. Gerdes (Badge # 165 Laramie)
  • Trooper Corey S. McCallister (Badge # 137 Elk Mountain)
  • Trooper Teddy L. Merritt (Badge # 183 Laramie)
  • Trooper Richard J. Morrison (Badge # 175 Wamsutter)
  • Trooper Tyler K. Randig (Badge # 171 Casper)
  • Trooper Clifford J. Schrock (Badge # 182 Elk Mountain)
  • Trooper Wallace S. Schulthess (Badge # 188 Kemmerer)
  • Trooper Jason C. Simmer (Badge # 194 Torrington)
  • Trooper Tyler D. Smith (Badge # 205 Jackson)
  • Trooper Adam J. Watson (Badge # 207 Torrington)
  • Trooper Steven M. Watson (Badge # 159 Elk Mountain)
  • Colonel’s Leadership Award: Trooper Ryan W. Gerdes
  • Top Academic Award: Trooper Micah P. Burke
  • Top Fitness Award: Trooper Tyler K. Randig
  • Top Firearms Award: Trooper Ryan W. Gerdes
  • Most Improved Fitness Award: Trooper Richard J. Morrison
  • “Esperit de Corps” Award: Trooper Adam J. Watson

Recent Posts

Friday night Rendezvous Fest headliner announced

JACKSON, Wyo. — Jackson Hole Mountain Resort announced rock trio The Record Company as the 2020 Rendezvous Spring Festival's headline… Read More

40 mins ago

Jobs of the Week, January 28

Looking for a new career? Check out listings from employers around town. Employers, are you hiring? Click here to create… Read More

3 hours ago

Wyoming lawmaker trying again to raise minimum marriage age

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — A state lawmaker seeks to raise the minimum age for legal marriage in Wyoming. Wyoming allows… Read More

3 hours ago

JHMR’s Rendezvous Bowl Sets New January Snowfall Record

Following a snow report of 4" on Monday morning and 5" on Tuesday morning, the Rendezvous Bowl plot at Jackson… Read More

3 hours ago

25th Stage Stop Race will be the grandest affair yet

JACKSON, Wyo. — Pedigree Stage Stop Sled Dog Race organizers are excited about the 2020 race schedule and total possible payout… Read More

3 hours ago

Wyoming Department of Health closely monitoring coronavirus

WYOMING — With five cases of coronavirus cases now confirmed in the United States and hundreds more being investigated, the… Read More

23 hours ago