JHMR celebrates Eagle’s Rest grand opening

JACKSON, Wyo. — Christmas came early at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort this year.

Instead of unwrapping a new toy this past Saturday, JHMR unveiled a new and improved Eagle’s Rest lift chairlift. Once the only chair at the resort, the old and notoriously slow double chair was dismantled in 2016 to make room for the Sweetwater Gondola. The new lift serves the same stretch of mountain, but accommodates twice as many people and starts a little higher up.

The resort celebrated with an opening ceremony and ribbon-cutting complete with remarks from owners Connie and Jay Kemmerer, President Mary Kate Buckley, and even a blessing from Pastor Ben Pascal. But it was a young woman named Janie Hopkins who stole the show.

Hopkins, now a senior at Georgetown University, shared an ode to Eagle’s Rest she had written when she was just 17 years old.

“Every year I go back, and every year it’s there, grinding its way up the slope,” Hopkins read. “It was there when I was seven and returned to the base after my first-ever tram lap, the start of a love story that has no ending. It was there in 2009 when I stood next to it, waiting for the mountain to open on what was sure to be an all-time day, when the Headwall slid and destroyed the gondola restaurant. It stood unaffected the first year that I remember the mountain exploding with people in a way that it never had before.”

Jackson Hole Mountain Resort is offering extended holiday hours during the holidays. From Thursday, December 26 through Tuesday, December 31, Eagle’s Rest, Teewinot, and Apres Vous will open at 8:30 a.m. Teewinot will stay open until 4:15 p.m.

“Ode to Eagle’s Rest” by Janie Hopkins. Courtesy Jackson Hole Mountain Resort

You May Also Like
La Nina pattern emerging for Winter 2020-2021
Andy Lex announced as JHSC Freeride Program Director
JHMR winter operations update, letter from the President
JHMR hosting annual disc golf tournament on Saturday, August 22
JHMR announces plans to open this winter
Rendezvous Mountain Hillclimb results: DeMoor and Diaz take honors